2nd Generation Specific (1986-1992) 1986-1992 Discussion including performance modifications and technical support sections.
Sponsored by:

How hard to change flywheel

Old 02-27-05, 02:57 PM
Is that thing Turbo?

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How hard to change flywheel

Ok well that what i need know. I've been putting off fixing my car for 2 months now trying to find a place that will work on my car for less than an arm and a leg. So with moist of the estimates costing more than i can afford i'm back to thinking about doing it myself. I'f a pretty good mechanic but i've never changed a flywheel. What will i need to do it? i've also heard that an impact wrench on the flywheel nut is a big no no, is that true? and how high off the ground will the car need to be?
Old 02-27-05, 04:26 PM
Engine, Not Motor

Received 108 Likes on 91 Posts
It's easy to do if you have the equipment. Remove the exhaust, driveshaft and tranny. That's fairly easy.

To remove the flywheel nut, you will need either a LARGE breaker bar (which doesn't work too well if the engine is still in the car) or an impact gun (only way to go). That nut is likely torqued to 300+ ft LBS, and is 54MM / 2 1/8 . So you need to find the special socket.

Then to remove the flywheel, you can normally just pry it while someone gives it a wack with a hammer (use wood to protect flywheel surface). Assembly is reverse of the removal, making sure to torque the flywheel nut to 300 ft-LBs.
Old 02-27-05, 04:31 PM
Open up! Search Warrant!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
When you loosen the nut, leave it on by just a couple threads. It will stop the flywheel from falling all the way off when it pops free.
Old 02-27-05, 06:16 PM
I'm your huckleberry..

Originally Posted by Project84
When you loosen the nut, leave it on by just a couple threads. It will stop the flywheel from falling all the way off when it pops free.