1st Generation Specific (1979-1985) 1979-1985 Discussion including performance modifications and technical support sections

holley + turbo

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-11, 12:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NJ holley + turbo

hello all im still new at rotarys and was wondering. my vehicle came with a holley 600cfm , is it to complicated to add a turbo ? i must mention its a 12a motor and the carb is a holley i read somewhere it can be done but they didnt explain what was needed to do this . id love any input on the subject and thank everyone in advance. also the holley seams to be to big of a carb at idle i get a really strong slightly burned fuel smell and after a little down shifting after some spirited driving i get a horrible sulffer smell . i have a cat and a resonator aswell as a muffler the pipe is a 2 1/4 inch dia, do i need to go for a smaller carb or will (if possible) a turbo help out in burning the raw fuel? oh and this is the funnest car ive ever owned. now i want one of each gen. damn i hate being poor . thanks again in advanced , p.s really realley want to turbo this car and unleast the monster inside
Old 10-23-11, 01:33 AM
I need a new user title

Heh. If you think the size of the carb has anything to do with how much fuel is delivered, you're a long way from being ready for a project like this. You'll have to learn all the aspects of how a carb operates, because you'll mostly be on your own as far as tuning (though at least Holley information is more readily available than Weber information). If you're serious about attempting this, here's some stuff to help you get started:

How to boost-prep a Holley style carb:
http://www.hangar18fabrication.com/blowthru.html

This forum is the best place to search for blow-through carb related information:
http://www.turbomustangs.com/

A while back I put together a partial parts list for a friend wanting to do a blow-through 12A in his B-series truck, which I'll repost with some modifications here: